Foundation Chair – Jean Ward

Bridgetown, Annapolis County Jean is involved in rural leadership through employment in Agriculture as a producer on her family farm. She also has experience as an ARC (Agriculture Resource Coordinator) and an ALC (Agriculture Leadership Coordinator) with the NS Department of Agriculture. Past community involvement includes 4-H NS as a Specialist for the organization. Jean[…]

Past Chair – Arthur Bull

Arthur Bull lives on Digby Neck. His past positions include Chairperson of the Coastal Communities Network, Co-Director of the Rural Communities Impacting Policy Project, Executive Director of the Bay of Fundy Marine Resource Centre, Executive Director of Saltwater Network, Coordinator of the Fundy Fixed Gear Council, President of the Bay of Fundy Inshore Fishermen’s Association,[…]

Secretary – Kathryn Gamache

Hubbards Kathryn Gamache is the Executive Director of the Aspotogan Heritage Trust, which is located in Hubbards along the beautiful South Shore. She has long-standing family roots in rural and coastal Nova Scotia and throughout her career has been active in community development at both local and provincial levels. She is invested in organizations that[…]

Treasurer – Marta Anderson

Guysborough County Marta is a Real Estate Broker and owns her own brokerage. She is a member of the Real Estate Institute of Canada and has earned her FRI designation. A resident of Canso, Guysborough County, Marta is also a long time director/volunteer for The Canso Harbour Authority, and a member of the Guysborough Board[…]

Director – Chris Atwood

Yarmouth County Chris Atwood grew up in Pictou County on the family sheep and vegetable farm. In 1990 he graduated from the Nova Scotia Agriculture College with a BSc. (Agr). He spent most of the 1990’s working internationally on projects in Swaziland, the former Czechoslovakia, Nigeria and Thailand. Living in Yarmouth since 1999, Chris is[…]

Director – Maureen Coady

Antigonish, Antigonish County Maureen is an Associate Professor & Chair with the Department of Adult Education, St Francis Xavier University. Her primary area of interest in adult education has been community health and development. She brings critical adult education and adult learning focus to conversations about development and social change. Maureen has always lived and[…]

Director – Chris Googoo

Millbrook Christopher Googoo is a proud member of the We’koqma’q First Nation, living in Millbrook with his wife and three children. Since joining Ulnooweg Development Group in 2000, he has helped hundreds of Aboriginal entrepreneurs secure loans and access business services. Chris also co-led the development of the Nova Scotia Mi’kmaq Economic Development Strategy and[…]

Director – Ben Haighway

Cape Breton County Ben is a former sport therapist in pro Hockey and a VON Canada nurse. He grew up in rural Canada and been involved with youth in rural areas all his life. Ben is concerned with the experiences that rural youth lack because of financial restrictions, and is interested in providing opportunities for[…]

Director – Sherry MacLeod

Richmond County Sherry grew up in St.Peters, Cape Breton in an entrepreneurial family where she still resides today. Her family has been involved in several small town businesses including a drug store, hardware store, laundromat, video shop, and more. She enjoys the rural community lifestyle, people and values. Her first business was in cosmetology; running[…]

Director – Holly Kennedy

Colchester County Holly has worked in healthcare for over 20 years as a Respiratory Therapist and currently works with a community outreach program. She has prior volunteer experience with the South Colchester Community Health Board. Interests include population health, issues affecting rural communities and agriculture. Holly lives with her husband and daughter in the Stewiacke[…]

Resource to the Board – Jayne Hunter

Tatamagouche, Colchester County Jayne works for Literacy Nova Scotia with a mandate to ensure equal access to quality literacy education. Literacy Nova Scotia was one of the founding organizations of the Foundation. She believes we need to invest in the people and communities of rural Nova Scotia. “People are our greatest resource; I am passionate[…]